I MINA'TRENTAI SINGKO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN RESOLUTIONS

Resolution No.	Sponsor	Title	Date Intro	Date of Presentation	Date Adopted	Date Referred	Referred to	PUBLIC HEARING DATE	DATE COMMITTEE REPORT FILED	NOTES
97-35 (COR)	Amanda L. Shelton	Relative to recognizing the Guam Girl Scouts on their annual celebration of National Girl	4/11/19	4/22/19						
		Scout Leader's Day on April 22, 2019 which honors all Girl Scout volunteers who work as	9:35 a.m.	5:30 p.m.						
		leaders and mentors and have positively impacted the organization since its founding in 1912								

2019 APR | 1 AM 9: 35

I MINA'TRENTAI SINGKO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2019 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 97 -35 (COR)

Introduced by:

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

Amanda L. Shelton Whete

Relative to recognizing the Guam Girl Scouts on their annual celebration of National Girl Scout Leader's Day on April 22, 2019 which honors all Girl Scout volunteers who work as leaders and mentors and have positively impacted the organization since its founding in 1912.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINA'TRENTAL SINGKO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÂHAN:

WHEREAS, the Girl Scouts was founded in 1912 and is the largest girl-serving organization in the United States and a member of the World Association of Girl Guides and Girl Scouts, a sisterhood of close to 10 million girls and adults in 145 countries; and

WHEREAS, the Guam Girl Scouts is license by Girl Scours of the USA and incorporated on Guam and was established in 1935 by Agueda Johnston and Frances Darr and is 100% locally funded through board fundraisers, grants, and cookie sales; and

WHEREAS, the mission of the Girl Scouts is to build courage, confidence, and character to make the world a better place; and the Girl Scouts is a value based organization dedicated to helping girls develop their leadership skills and are also given the opportunity to discover more about themselves, connect with others in their community, and take action to make their world a better place; and

WHEREAS, the Guam Girl Scouts strives to be the premier leadership organization for girls and is open to all girls ages 5-17 with 18 troops in schools and villages currently in place across the island with over 40 leaders and mentors; and

WHEREAS, the Guam Girl Scouts enjoy activities including environmental care, sports, art, music, service project, career exploration, technology events, cultural diversity celebrations and summer camps; and

WHEREAS, Girl Scout Leader's Day, also known as Girl Scout Leader Appreciation Day, is an annual celebration held on April 22 that honors all Girl Scout volunteers and troop leaders; Girl Scout Leaders are adult volunteers who serve as guides and mentors that help girls develop skills and confidence to new experiences that show Girl Scouts what they are capable of; and volunteers make exceptional contributions as role models and belong to a network of nearly one million adults who help share in the effort to preparing Girl Scouts to lead successful lives in a safe learning environment that allows them to pursue their interests, causes, and roles that are most important to them; now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, that the Committee on Rules of *I Mina'trentai Singko Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people of Guam, recognize the Guam Girl Scouts on their annual celebration of National Girl Scouts Leader's Day on April 22, 2019 which honors all Girl Scout Volunteers who work as leaders and mentors and have positively impacted the organization since its founding in 1912; and be it further;

RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on Rules certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to the Guam Girl Scouts; and to the Honorable Lourdes Leon Guerrero, *I Maga'hågan Guåhan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RI	RULES OF		
I MINA'TRENTAI SINGKO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE OF MONTH 2019.	DAY		

TINA ROSE MUÑA-BARNES Speaker

RÉGINE BISCOE LEE Chairperson, Committee on Rules

AMANDA L. SHELTON Legislative Secretary